# Regular Business Meeting of May 15, 2023

Commissioner Lora Petso called the meeting to order at 4:30 p.m. Also in attendance were John Elsasser, Fanny Yee, Kelly Boswell, Billy Ward, and Bob Danson.

#### ANY ADDITIONS OR CHANGES TO THE AGENDA

There were no changes to the agenda.

#### PERSONS TO BE HEARD

There were no persons to be heard.

# **CONSENT AGENDA**

- a) Sign the Regular Meeting Minutes of April 17, 2023
- b) Approve the Regular Meeting Minutes of May 1, 2023
- c) Approve the Maintenance Vouchers #23-255 through #23-293 for \$121,978.12
- d) Approve the Capital Vouchers #23-294 through #23-296 for \$38,909.29

Action: Motion to approve the consent agenda

Moved: Fanny Yee Second: John Elsasser

Passed: Unanimously approved

#### **GENERAL MANAGER'S REPORT**

a) Legislative Update

There was discussion on how the District will implement SB-1329, the Hot Weather Shut-off bill. The Bill will go into effect July 23, 2023. There will be a WASWD Workshop in the future with the AG office to answer pending questions. SB 1110 and 1337 deal with affordable housing and density.

b) Cybersecurity Audit Update SAO offered Olympic View a cybersecurity audit. There are a couple of small things to correct but nothing to be concerned about.

Regular Business Meeting of May 15, 2023

c) 2020 Watermain Replacement Project Funding Update The Watermain Project was completed February 8, 2023. Olympic View was within the 36-month incentive window on completion therefore the interest rate decreased a half of percent.

#### **ADMINISTRATION SERVICES MANAGER'S REPORT**

There was no Administration Services Manager Report.

#### **OPERATIONS MANAGER REPORT**

- a) District Headquarters Security Camera
   A new camera for the drop box has been installed to aid in additional security.
- b) Update on Tank Cleaning
  The Inspection is scheduled for June 12, 2023.
- c) Operation Update The Fremont Station is in need of repairs due to the age of the station. Work will be done internally.
- d) CCTV Capital Purchase

As reported at the Board meeting on March 6<sup>th</sup>, Staff evaluated the proposed CCTV truck replacement request included in the 2023 capital plan. Staff recommended moving away from replacing our current truck mounted CUES system and moving to a portable IBAK CCTV system for day-to-day needs. Our existing Cues Truck/CCTV camera system will be sold (est. \$68,000 - \$80,000) to offset the cost of the new portable IBAK system.

Staff is requesting Board approval to purchase the portable IBAK MainLite and MiniLite\_system from SWS Equipment. This purchase is part of the 2023 CCTV truck replacement capital budget.

Action: Motion to approve the purchase of new CCTV camera system

not to exceed \$93,898.00 plus tax.

Moved: Lora Petso

Second: John Elsasser

Passed: Unanimously approved

Regular Business Meeting of May 15, 2023

#### **ATTORNEY'S REPORT**

There was no Attorney report.

#### **COMMISSIONER'S REPORT**

Commissioner Elsasser received an email from a constituent regarding backflow testing. He also reported on the candidates who have filed for Commissioner Yee's position.

Commissioner Petso has been contacted by WASWD to help craft a response to the EPA's new PFAS regulation of water utilities. Also inquired about water rights at Deer Creek.

District Attorney Noel Treat was called into the meeting.

#### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

At 5:22 p.m. the Board went into Executive Session pursuant to RCW 42.30.110(1)(i) to discuss potential litigation for ten (10) minutes. The session was extended for five (5) more minutes and ended at 5:38 p.m.

# **REGULAR SESSION RESUMED**

Commissioner Petso made a motion to authorize the General Manager to enter into an engagement letter with Schwabe Law Firm for consulting services not to exceed \$6,000.

Moved:

John Elsasser

Second:

Fanny Yee

Passed:

Unanimously approved

# **NEXT BOARD MEETING**

The next regular scheduled meeting is Monday, June 5, 2023, at 4:30 p.m.

The meeting adjourned 5:39 p.m.

Regular Business Meeting of May 15, 2023

Transcribed by Anne Backstrom.

**APPROVED** 

Lora Petso, President

Fanny Yee, Vice-President

John Elsasser, Secretary